Skip to main content

Congratulations IoD winners

By 4th October 2010No Comments

Congratulations to all the winners at Friday’s inaugural National Director of the Year Awards, organised by the Institute of Directors and sponsored by Clydesdale Bank and Yorkshire Bank, Inenco, Custom House, Auditel, Arjowiggins-Conqueror and Visa Europe.  Nominees for the nine awards had all demonstrated exceptional leadership and motivational skills and had already won awards at Regional level before being put forward for the inaugural National competition. The winner of the overall award – Director of the Year – was Graham Honeyman CBE, Chief Executive Officer of Sheffield Forgemasters International, who also picked up two other awards at the Lancaster Hotel lunch, hosted by Michael Portillo and attended by special guest, Lord Sugar of Clapton. A tenth, Lifetime Achievement, award was made to Sir Terry Leahy, Cheif Executive of Tesco.

The full list of winners is:

Overall Director of the Year

  • Winner – Graham Honeyman CBE, Sheffield Forgemasters International (Yorkshire)
  • Runner up – Simon Bitcliffe, Webmart (South)

Young Director of the Year

  • Winner – Cathy McCorry, Grafton Recruitment (Northern Ireland)
  • Highly Commended – James Wollard, Polythene UK (South) and Joe Blackman, Green Ant Events, (Wales)

Public/Third Sector Director of the Year

  • Winner – Mike Phillips, West Mercia Supplies (West Midlands)
  • Highly Commended – Purnima Tanuku, National Day Nurseries Association (Yorkshire) and Mark Powles, Business Stream (Scotland)

Director of the Year for Environmental Leadership

  • Winner – Mervyn D.Jones, Aquamarine Power (Scotland)
  • Highly Commended – Julian Dennis C Dir, Wessex Water (South West) and Duncan Goose, Global Ethics (South)

Family Business Director of the Year

  • Winner – Sarah Dunning, Westmorland (North West)
  • Highly Commended – Jason Wouhra C Dir, East End Foods (West Midlands) and Stephen Blatchford, Chas. A. Blatchford & Sons (South)

Clydesdale Bank and Yorkshire Bank Investing for Growth Award

  • Winner – Graham Honeyman CBE, Sheffield Forgemasters International (Yorkshire)

Global Director of the Year

  • Winner – Graham Honeyman CBE, Sheffield Forgemasters International (Yorkshire)
  • Highly Commended – Conor Walsh C Dir, Andor (Northern Ireland) and David Price CBE, Chemring Group PLC (South)                                   

Director of the Year – SME

  • Winner – Simon Bitcliffe, Webmart (South)
  • Highly Commended – Patricia O’Hagan, Core Systems NI (Northern Ireland) and Mark Box, Rieke Packaging Systems (East Midlands)

Director of the Year – Large Company (Sponsored by Auditel UK Ltd.)

  • Winner – Ciaran Sheehan, Care Circle Group (Northern Ireland)
  • Highly Commended – Helen Bunbury, Ogier (Jersey) and Stephen Martin, Clugston Group (East Midlands)